Important information

    Due to the risk of infection with the coronavirus, the Federal Administrative Court remains closed for visitors until further notice.

    It is still possible to attend oral hearings when wearing a medical face or FFP2 mask. The courtrooms are fit to keep sufficient distance.

History of administrative jurisdiction

Origins

Today's system of administrative jurisdiction has its origins in the second half of the 19th century. The first German court of administrative justice was constituted in the Grand Duchy of Baden. Prussia also established administrative jurisdiction several years later with, inter alia, the constitution of the Prussian Higher Administrative Court, where administrative jurisdiction developed under Rudolf von Gneist. There is a bust of von Gneist in the main hall of the Court. In contrast, there was no uniform system of legal protection at imperial level.

Weimar Republic and National Socialism

The administrative jurisdiction constituted in each of the federal states was preserved under the Constitution of the German Reich of 1919. Although it required the federal states and the Reich to establish administrative courts, the legislator in the Reich did not fulfil this obligation.

And while the National Socialist regime constituted the Reich Administrative Court in 1941, it had already severely curtailed legal protection provided at administrative court level.

Development after 1945

A system of legal protection at administrative court level emerged once again in the occupation zones after the end of the Second World War, albeit to differing degrees. The western federal states created the legal foundations for the establishment of federal state administrative courts after the founding of the Federal Republic of Germany. At national level, the federal government established the Federal Administrative Court as court of appeal for appeals on points of law in the Federal Administrative Court Act of 23 September 1952. The seat of the Court was in Berlin, in the building of the former Prussian Higher Administrative Court. The Code of Administrative Court Procedure came into force on 1 April 1960; since then it has defined the structure, organisation and proceedings before administrative courts at national and federal state level.

In contrast, the German Democratic Republic abolished the system of administrative jurisdiction. Not until the late 1980s was it permitted to call on the county courts to review the lawfulness of certain administrative measures.

Reunification

The Unification Treaty contains provisions on the establishment of jurisdictions and the competency of courts in the new federal states. Subsequently they created the legal foundations for the constitution of administrative and higher administrative courts. The Code of Administrative Court Procedure has applied throughout Germany since then.

At federal level, the independent Federalism Commission recommended the relocation of the Federal Administrative Court from Berlin to Saxony in May 1992. The city of Leipzig was not mentioned, although the context of the resolution text seems to indicate that it was in mind. The Federal Parliament (Bundestag) noted and approved the resolutions on 26 June 1992. It finally decided on Leipzig as the new seat of the Federal Administrative Court in November 1997. The seat of the Federal Administrative Court moved from Berlin to Leipzig on 26 August 2002, where it commenced its judicial activity in the former building of the Imperial Court of Justice.

Reihe historischer Bücher

Geschichte der Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit

Ursprünge

Die heutige Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit hat ihre Ursprünge in der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Der erste deutsche Verwaltungsgerichtshof wurde im Großherzogtum Baden errichtet. Ihm folgte einige Jahre später die Errichtung der Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit in Preußen u. a. mit dem Preußischen Oberverwaltungsgericht. Unter Rudolf v. Gneist entwickelte sich hier die Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit. Eine Büste in der Haupthalle des Gerichts zeigt ihn. Auf Reichsebene existierte dagegen kein einheitliches Rechtsschutzsystem.

Weimarer Reich und Nationalsozialismus

Die jeweils in eigener Zuständigkeit der Länder errichtete Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit blieb unter der Geltung der Weimarer Reichsverfassung des Jahres 1919 erhalten. Zwar verpflichtete sie die Länder und das Reich, Verwaltungsgerichte einzurichten. Von dieser Verpflichtung machte jedoch der Reichsgesetzgeber keinen Gebrauch.

Die Herrschaft des Nationalsozialismus errichtete zwar im Jahre 1941 das Reichsverwaltungsgericht. Bereits zuvor schränkte sie aber den verwaltungsgerichtlichen Rechtsschutz erheblich ein.

Entwicklung nach 1945

Nach dem Ende des 2. Weltkrieges entwickelte sich in den Besatzungszonen wieder der verwaltungsgerichtliche Rechtsschutz gegen Maßnahmen der Verwaltung in unterschiedlichem Umfang. Nach Gründung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland schufen die westlichen Bundesländer die Rechtsgrundlagen für die Errichtung der jeweiligen Landesverwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit. Auf Bundesebene errichtete der Bundesgesetzgeber durch Gesetz über das Bundesverwaltungsgericht vom 23. September 1952 das Bundesverwaltungsgericht als Revisionsinstanz. Das Gericht hatte seinen Sitz in Berlin im Gebäude des ehemaligen Preußischen Oberverwaltungsgerichts. Am 1. April 1960 trat die Verwaltungsgerichtsordnung in Kraft, die seitdem den Aufbau, die Organisation und die Verfahren vor den Verwaltungsgerichten in Bund und Ländern regelt.

Demgegenüber schaffte die Deutsche Demokratische Republik die Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit ab. Erst gegen Ende der 1980er Jahre war es zulässig, bestimmte Verwaltungsmaßnahmen von den dortigen Kreisgerichten auf ihre Rechtmäßigkeit hin überprüfen zu lassen.

Wiedervereinigung

Der Einigungsvertrag enthielt Regelungen über die Einrichtung der Gerichtsbarkeiten und die Zuständigkeit von Spruchkörpern in den neuen Bundesländern. Nachfolgend schufen diese ebenfalls die Rechtsgrundlagen für die Errichtung der Verwaltungs- und Oberverwaltungsgerichte. Seitdem kommt die Verwaltungsgerichtsordnung einheitlich in Deutschland zur Anwendung.

Auf Bundesebene empfahl die Föderalismuskommission des Bundes und der Länder im Mai 1992 den Umzug des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts von Berlin nach Sachsen. Die Stadt Leipzig fand keine Erwähnung, war aber, wie sich aus dem Zusammenhang des Beschlusstextes ergibt, wohl gemeint. Der Bundestag nahm von den Beschlüssen am 26. Juni 1992 zustimmend Kenntnis. Im November 1997 bestimmte er endgültig Leipzig zum neuen Sitz des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts. Am 26. August 2002 wechselte der Sitz des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts von Berlin nach Leipzig. Dort nahm es im ehemaligen Reichsgerichtsgebäude seine Rechtsprechungstätigkeit auf.