Important information

    Due to the risk of infection with the coronavirus, the Federal Administrative Court remains closed for visitors until further notice.

    It is still possible to attend oral hearings when wearing a medical face or FFP2 mask. The courtrooms are fit to keep sufficient distance.

Historical collections of the legal library

Besides a more recent collection, the Federal Administrative Court Library owns a comprehensive part of the libraries of the former Imperial Court of Justice, the Prussian Higher Administrative Court, the Supreme Court of the GDR and the People's Chamber of the GDR. Its legal library contains one of the most important historical collections: the oldest book is a 12th-century edition of Decretum Gratiani, while the oldest manuscript is a fragment of a bible commentary from the Carolingian period (9th century).

Library of the Imperial Court of Justice

The library of the Imperial Court of Justice – Germany's largest legal library in its day – was included in the Supreme Court of the GDR library during the GDR period. It was shared between the Federal Court of Justice in Karlsruhe and the Federal Administrative Court after reunification. The Federal Administrative Court owns around 74,500 volumes from the former Imperial Court of Justice library. Mainly they include works on constitutional, state, administrative and canon law from the 12th to the 19th centuries.

Library of the Prussian Higher Administrative Court

Founded 1875, the Prussian Higher Administrative Court already had a library when it opened. Comprising around 25,000 volumes, the library was housed in its first modern facility with four-storey book stacks and two reading rooms when the new court building on Hardenbergstrasse in Berlin was inaugurated in 1907. The library grew between 1933 and 1941 by acquiring collections when government agencies were disbanded or consolidated. The Prussian Higher Administrative Court was incorporated into the newly created Reich Administrative Court on 1 May 1941. By the end of the War, the former library of the Prussian Higher Administrative Court had grown to approximately 52,000 volumes, most of them with only negligible damage.

The inventory of the Prussian Higher Administrative Court library was used as the foundation to build the library of the Federal Administrative Court. Today, only around 36,000 volumes remain in the inventory, as most of the non-legal volumes and duplicate copies were passed on over time. The remaining collection extends back to the 16th century, including significant works from the 17th and 18th centuries (for instance the Corpus iuris canonici 1670; Acta pacis Westphalicae publica 1734–1743; Corpus iuris Fridericianum 1749). Of particular interest are also the extensive collections of official publications from the former Prussian provinces, and parliament materials, for instance from the Reichstag, the Reichstag of the North German Confederation and the Federal Assembly (after 1817).

Library of the Supreme Court of the GDR

The library of the Supreme Court of the GDR was dedicated to the collection of contemporary works. They were mainly publications released in the GDR and in the Federal Republic of Germany, as well as works from countries in Eastern Europe. Dissertations published in the GDR were another of the library's focuses. Over the years the importance of the Supreme Court library subsided. Toward the end, the available annual budget for new acquisitions was just 77,000 Marks. The library was shared between the Federal Court of Justice in Karlsruhe and the Federal Administrative Court after reunification. Among other sections, Leipzig received the works belonging to the categories St (Political Sciences in the GDR) and Diss (Dissertations in the GDR).

Library of the People's Chamber of the GDR

The library of the People's Chamber of the GDR was founded in 1950 and placed in the charge of the People's Chamber secretariat. By 1976 it had grown to 86,000 volumes, so a significant proportion was passed on for reasons of space when the Chamber moved to the new Palace of the Republic. The western literature was 'secreted', which meant it could only be accessed with special approval. The inventory of approximately 9,000 volumes was initially transferred to the German Bundestag after reunification. It was then passed on to the Federal Administrative Court library in 2002. Today it encompasses a broad spectrum of largely non-legal literature with a focus on parliamentary, political and legal systems, as well as history, politics and economics. For instance it contains the draft constitution of 4 April 1990, prepared by the work group 'New Constitution for the GDR' in the Central Round Table of the GDR.

Wichtiger Hinweis

    Aufgrund des Infektionsrisikos mit dem Corona-Virus ist das Bundesverwaltungsgericht bis auf Weiteres für auswärtige Besucherinnen und Besucher geschlossen.

    Die Teilnahme an öffentlichen Verhandlungen ist mit medizinischer Gesichtsmaske oder mit FFP2-Maske möglich. Für ausreichend Abstand in den Sitzungssälen ist gesorgt.

Buchrücken von einer Reihe historischer Bücher

Rechtshistorische Bestände

Die Bibliothek des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts umfasst neben dem Neubestand umfangreiche Teile der Bibliotheken des Reichsgerichts, des Preußischen Oberverwaltungsgerichts, des Obersten Gerichts der DDR sowie der Volkskammer der DDR. Sie besitzt unter den juristischen Fachbibliotheken einen der bedeutendsten historischen Bestände: Ältestes Buch ist eine Ausgabe des Decretum Gratiani aus dem 12. Jahrhundert, älteste Handschrift das Fragment eines Bibelkommentars aus karolingischer Zeit (9. Jahrhundert).

Bibliothek des Reichsgerichts

Die Bibliothek des Reichsgerichts - seinerzeit die größte juristische Bibliothek Deutschlands - war in der DDR-Zeit Teil der Bibliothek des Obersten Gerichts der DDR. Nach der Wiedervereinigung wurde die Bibliothek zwischen dem Bundesgerichtshof in Karlsruhe und dem Bundesverwaltungsgericht aufgeteilt. Das Bundesverwaltungsgericht besitzt rund 74.500 Bände der ehemaligen Reichsgerichtsbibliothek. Den Schwerpunkt bilden Werke zum Verfassungs-, Staats-, Verwaltungs- sowie zum Kirchenrecht aus dem 12. bis 19. Jahrhundert.

Bibliothek des Preußischen Oberverwaltungsgerichts

Dem 1875 geschaffenen Preußischen Oberverwaltungsgericht stand bereits bei seiner Eröffnung eine Bibliothek zur Verfügung. Mit der Einweihung des neuen Gerichtsgebäudes in der Berliner Hardenbergstraße im Jahr 1907 erhielt die Bibliothek für ihren damaligen Buchbestand von ca. 25.000 Bänden erstmals ein modernes, viergeschossiges Büchermagazin mit zwei Lesezimmern. Zwischen 1933 und 1941 wuchs die Bibliothek durch überlassene Büchersammlungen aus Behördenauflösungen und -zusammenlegungen. Am 1. Mai 1941 ging das Preußische Oberverwaltungsgericht im neu geschaffenen Reichsverwaltungsgericht auf. Bei Kriegsende umfasste die ehemalige Bibliothek des Oberverwaltungsgerichts ca. 52.000, überwiegend nur leicht beschädigte Bände.

Der Bibliotheksbestand des Preußischen Oberverwaltungsgerichts diente als Grundstock für die Bibliothek des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts. Inzwischen umfasst der Bestand nur noch ca. 36.000 Bände, da ihr nichtjuristischer Teil sowie mehrfach vorhandene Exemplare im Laufe der Zeit abgegeben wurden. Der verbliebene Bibliotheksbestand reicht bis ins 16. Jahrhundert zurück. Darunter befinden sich bedeutende Werke aus dem 17. und 18. Jahrhundert (beispielsweise Corpus iuris canonici 1670; Acta pacis Westphalicae publica 1734-1743; Corpus iuris Fridericianum 1749). Ebenfalls von besonderem Interesse sind die umfangreiche Sammlung der Amtsdruckschriften der ehemaligen preußischen Provinzen sowie die Materialien der Parlamente, wie etwa des Reichstages, des Reichstages des Norddeutschen Bundes und der Deutschen Bundesversammlung (ab 1817).

Bibliothek des Obersten Gerichts der DDR

Die Bibliothek des Obersten Gerichts der DDR widmete sich der Sammlung zeitgenössischer Werke. Es handelte sich vorrangig um in der DDR und der Bundesrepublik erschienene Publikationen, darüber hinaus auch um Werke aus osteuropäischen Ländern. Ein Sammelschwerpunkt waren die in der DDR verfassten juristischen Dissertationen. Im Laufe der Zeit sank die Bedeutung der Bibliothek des Obersten Gerichts. Der jährliche Erwerbungsetat betrug am Ende nur noch 77.000 Mark. Nach der Wiedervereinigung wurde die Bibliothek zwischen dem Bundesgerichtshof in Karlsruhe und dem Bundesverwaltungsgericht aufgeteilt. Leipzig erhielt unter anderem die Bände der Sachgruppen St (Staatswissenschaften DDR) und Diss (Dissertationen DDR).

Bibliothek der Volkskammer der DDR

Die Bibliothek der Volkskammer der DDR wurde 1950 gegründet und dem Sekretariat der Volkskammer zugeordnet. Nachdem sie bis 1976 auf einen Bestand von 86.000 Bänden angewachsen war, musste ein Großteil mit dem Umzug in den neu erbauten Palast der Republik aus Platzgründen abgegeben werden. Die westliche Literatur war „sekretiert“ und durfte nur mit besonderer Genehmigung eingesehen werden. Nach der Wiedervereinigung ging der Bestand von ca. 9.000 Bänden zunächst in das Eigentum des Deutschen Bundestages über, bevor er im Jahr 2002 der Bibliothek des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts überlassen wurde. Heute umfasst er ein breites Spektrum an überwiegend nicht-juristischer Literatur mit den Schwerpunkten Parlaments-, Staats- und Rechtswesen sowie Geschichte, Politik und Wirtschaft. Er enthält beispielsweise den Verfassungsentwurf vom 4. April 1990, den die Arbeitsgruppe „Neue Verfassung für die DDR“ des Zentralen Runden Tisches der DDR entwickelt hat.