Important information

    Due to the risk of infection with the coronavirus, the Federal Administrative Court remains closed for visitors until further notice.

    It is still possible to attend oral hearings when wearing a medical face or FFP2 mask. The courtrooms are fit to keep sufficient distance.

ACA-Europe – Association of the Councils of State and Supreme Administrative Jurisdictions of the European Union

Aims and Methods

The Association of the Councils of State and Supreme Administrative Jurisdictions of the European Union - ACA-Europe - aims to promote the sharing of opinions and experience between its members. The association focuses on the jurisdiction, work and methods of the courts, as well as on European law. ACA-Europe holds seminars and conducts studies for this purpose. Judges have the opportunity to complete a two-week guest residency at another European court. Besides a web-based exchange forum, it also maintains JuriFast, a publicly accessible database containing rulings by its members. The working languages are English and French.

Members

The members of ACA-Europe are the supreme administrative courts in all member states of the European Union as well as the Court of Justice of the European Union. The supreme administrative courts of the United Kingdom, Norway and Switzerland are guest courts. Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey have observer status.

Presidency

The Presidency of ACA-Europe alternates between the members of ACA-Europe every two years. From 15 May 2018 until 31 May 2021, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Klaus Rennert, President of the Federal Administrative Court, was also President of ACA-Europe. Due to the contact and travel restrictions in the context of the Covid-19 pandemic, the General Assembly of ACA-Europe scheduled in Leipzig for May 2020, during which the following presidency would have been elected, could not take place. The German Presidency has therefore been extended by one year - until the next possible General Assembly. Six seminars took place during the German Presidency 2018-2021, four of which in Germany or virtually from the Federal Administrative Court.

Wichtiger Hinweis

    Aufgrund des Infektionsrisikos mit dem Corona-Virus ist das Bundesverwaltungsgericht bis auf Weiteres für auswärtige Besucherinnen und Besucher geschlossen.

    Die Teilnahme an öffentlichen Verhandlungen ist mit medizinischer Gesichtsmaske oder mit FFP2-Maske möglich. Für ausreichend Abstand in den Sitzungssälen ist gesorgt.

Versammlung mit Sprechern auf Podium

Europäische Vereinigung der obersten Verwaltungsgerichte – ACA-Europe

ACA-Europe ist die Vereinigung der Staatsräte und obersten Verwaltungsgerichte der Europäischen Union.

Ziele und Arbeitsweise

Ziel der Europäischen Vereinigung der obersten Verwaltungsgerichte - ACA-Europe (Association of the Councils of State and Supreme Administrative Jurisdicitions of the European Union) ist es, den Meinungs- und Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen ihren Mitgliedern zu fördern. Thematisch stehen die Rechtsprechung, die Arbeit und Funktionsweise der Gerichte sowie das Europarecht im Vordergrund. Zu diesem Zweck veranstaltet ACA-Europe Seminare und führt Studien durch. Richterinnen und Richter haben die Möglichkeit zu zweiwöchigen Gastaufenthalten an einem anderen europäischen Gericht. Neben einem Austauschforum im Internet wird auch die allgemein zugängliche Datenbank JuriFast mit Urteilen der Mitglieder unterhalten. Arbeitssprachen sind Englisch und Französisch.

Mitglieder

Mitglieder von ACA-Europe sind die obersten Verwaltungsgerichte aller Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union sowie der Europäische Gerichtshof. Großbritannien, Norwegen und die Schweiz nehmen als Gäste teil. Montenegro, Serbien und die Türkei haben Beobachterstatus.

Präsidentschaft

Die Präsidentschaft von ACA-Europe wechselt turnusgemäß alle zwei Jahre zwischen den Mitgliedsgerichten. Vom 15. Mai 2018 bis zum 31. Mai 2021 war der Präsident des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Klaus Rennert, zugleich Präsident von ACA-Europe. Aufgrund der Kontakt- und Reisebeschränkungen im Zusammenhang mit der COVID-19-Pandemie konnte u.a. die für Mai 2020 in Leipzig geplante Generalversammlung der ACA-Europe, die die folgende Präsidentschaft gewählt hätte, nicht stattfinden. Die deutsche Präsidentschaft wurde deshalb um ein Jahr - bis zur nächstmöglichen Generalversammlung - verlängert. Während der deutschen Präsidentschaft fanden sechs Seminare statt, davon vier in Deutschland bzw. virtuell aus dem Bundesverwaltungsgericht.