Important information

    Due to the risk of infection with the coronavirus, the Federal Administrative Court remains closed for visitors until further notice.

    It is still possible to attend oral hearings when wearing a medical face or FFP2 mask. The courtrooms are fit to keep sufficient distance.

Principles of the administrative procedure

The Code of Administrative Court Procedure (Verwaltungsgerichtsordnung) defines the organisation and structure of the administrative courts, as well as the court procedure. Citizens are entitled to bring an action before the administrative courts to ascertain an infringement of their rights.

Principle of party disposition

The party seeking relief sets out the subject of the case with its application. It initiates the proceedings by submitting the application. Moreover, it is entitled to end the proceedings at any time.

Principle of investigation and obligation to give information

The principle of investigation applies in proceedings. It requires the court ex officio to ascertain the facts relevant to the decision. In case of uncertainties, the court is also obliged to explain the proceedings to the parties concerned, for instance in regard to the applications or the facts.

Fair hearing and public access

The courts must grant the parties concerned the opportunity to present the facts relevant to the decision as well as legal arguments. In cases in which a judgment is passed, this takes place in the oral hearing. Proceedings before the administrative courts are open to the public.

Decision-making powers

The courts have various decision-making powers, which depend on the application, the proceedings and the subject of the proceedings. They are authorised to rescind unlawful administrative measures, ascertain their unlawfulness or order the administrative bodies to take or refrain from certain action. They are also entitled to order temporary measures in proceedings for interim relief.

Wichtiger Hinweis

    Aufgrund des Infektionsrisikos mit dem Corona-Virus ist das Bundesverwaltungsgericht bis auf Weiteres für auswärtige Besucherinnen und Besucher geschlossen.

    Die Teilnahme an öffentlichen Verhandlungen ist mit medizinischer Gesichtsmaske oder mit FFP2-Maske möglich. Für ausreichend Abstand in den Sitzungssälen ist gesorgt.

Buch Verwaltungsgerichtsordnung mit Händen

Grundsätze des Verwaltungsprozesses

Die Verwaltungsgerichtsordnung regelt die Organisation und den Aufbau der Verwaltungsgerichte sowie das Verfahren. Der Zugang zu den Verwaltungsgerichten ist dem Bürger eröffnet, wenn er eine Verletzung in eigenen Rechten geltend machen kann.

Verfügungsgrundsatz

Der Rechtsschutzsuchende bestimmt durch seinen Antrag den Gegenstand des Verfahrens. Mit seiner Antragstellung legt er den Beginn des Verfahrens fest. Auch ist er jederzeit befugt, das Verfahren zu beenden.

Untersuchungsgrundsatz und Aufklärungspflicht

In den Verfahren gilt der Untersuchungsgrundsatz. Er verpflichtet das Gericht, den entscheidungserheblichen Sachverhalt von Amts wegen zu ermitteln. Gleichzeitig ist das Gericht gehalten, die Beteiligten des Verfahrens über Unklarheiten etwa bei den Anträgen oder dem Sachverhalt aufzuklären.

Rechtliches Gehör und Öffentlichkeit

Die Gerichte haben die Beteiligten zu den entscheidungserheblichen Tatsachen und Rechtsfragen zu hören. Dies geschieht in Verfahren, in denen durch Urteil entschieden wird, in der mündlichen Verhandlung. Die Verhandlung vor den Verwaltungsgerichten ist öffentlich.

Entscheidungsbefugnisse

Die Entscheidungsbefugnisse der Gerichte sind vielfältig und hängen von dem Antrag, dem Verfahren und dem Verfahrensgegenstand ab. Die Gerichte können rechtswidrige Maßnahmen der Verwaltung aufheben, ihre Rechtswidrigkeit feststellen oder die Verwaltung zu einem Tun oder Unterlassen verpflichten. Auch sind sie in Verfahren des einstweiligen Rechtsschutzes berechtigt, vorläufige Maßnahmen zu treffen.