Important information

    Due to the risk of infection with the coronavirus, the Federal Administrative Court remains closed for visitors until further notice.

    It is still possible to attend oral hearings when wearing a medical face or FFP2 mask. The courtrooms are fit to keep sufficient distance.

Roster allocating court business

The roster allocating court business assigns judges to the senates and defines the jurisdiction of each senate. It therefore specifies in advance which senate will be responsible for a pending case and which judges will belong to the senate. It also defines substitution.

All tasks referred to the Court in the administration of justice must be assigned. Assignment takes place in the roster allocating court business based on general, abstract and objective characteristics, for instance the branch of law.

The board adopts a new roster allocating court business each year. The legal year is the calendar year. Changes to the roster allocating court business during the calendar year are only permitted in strictly defined exceptions.

The roster allocating court business does not lay out the responsibilities of individual judges in a senate or the management of proceedings. These aspects are attended to by the senate's own roster allocating court business, which each senate adopts before the start of a legal year.

Wichtiger Hinweis

    Aufgrund des Infektionsrisikos mit dem Corona-Virus ist das Bundesverwaltungsgericht bis auf Weiteres für auswärtige Besucherinnen und Besucher geschlossen.

    Die Teilnahme an öffentlichen Verhandlungen ist mit medizinischer Gesichtsmaske oder mit FFP2-Maske möglich. Für ausreichend Abstand in den Sitzungssälen ist gesorgt.

Geschäftsverteilungsplan

Der Geschäftsverteilungsplan weist die Richterinnen und Richter den Senaten zu und verteilt die Aufgaben der Rechtsprechung auf die einzelnen Senate. Es wird damit im Voraus festgelegt, welcher Senat für ein anhängig gewordenes Verfahren zuständig ist und welche Richter dem Senat angehören. Gleichzeitig regelt er deren Vertretung.

Alle dem Gericht nach dem Gesetz übertragenen Aufgaben der Rechtsprechung sind zu verteilen. Die Verteilung erfolgt im Geschäftsverteilungsplan nach allgemeinen, abstrakten, objektiven Merkmalen wie etwa nach Rechtsgebieten.

Das Präsidium entscheidet jedes Jahr über die Geschäftsverteilung. Das Geschäftsjahr ist das Kalenderjahr. Änderungen des Geschäftsverteilungsplans während des Kalenderjahres sind nur in eng begrenzten Ausnahmefällen zulässig.

Der Geschäftsverteilungsplan regelt nicht die Zuständigkeit des einzelnen Richters in einem Senat für die Bearbeitung eines Verfahrens. Dies regelt die senatsinterne Geschäftsverteilung, die die Mitglieder des jeweiligen Senats ebenfalls vor Beginn des Geschäftsjahrs beschließen.