The President

The President is the head of the Federal Administrative Court. He is the hierarchical superior of the judges as well as the administrative staff of the Court with regard to personnel matters. In this function the Vice President acts as his deputy. The President also holds the positions of a judge. He presides over a senate, currently the 10th Senate. The President is treated as an equal among equals in his office as judge. He has no authority over the other judges. The tasks of the President also include maintaining contacts with other courts and judicial organisations in Germany and abroad.

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Klaus Rennert is the President of the Federal Administrative Court.

Born in 1955 in Berlin, he began his career as a judge at the Regional Court Offenburg in 1984. He became a judge in the administrative jurisdiction in autumn 1985 (Administrative Court Karlsruhe). In the following years he was seconded to the Federal Constitutional Court as research associate and to the State Ministry of Baden-Württemberg as desk officer. Mr Rennert was appointed judge at the Higher Administrative Court of Baden-Württemberg in August 1994. From October 1996 until September 1997 he deputised for the Chair of Administrative Law and Administrative Sciences at the Albert Ludwig University of Freiburg, where he received his doctorate of law in 1987. The University of Freiburg appointed him honorary professor in February 2000. He was awarded an honorary doctorate from the Martin Luther University of Halle in 2009.

Following his appointment as judge at the Federal Administrative Court in September 2003 Mr Klaus Rennert became a member of the 3rd Senate. In May 2011, he assumed the role of presiding judge of the 8th Senate. He was Vice President of the Federal Administrative Court from November 2012, and became President of the Federal Administrative Court on 1 July 2014. He presides over the 10th Senate. Its responsibilities include the law on freedom of information as well as the right to access information, to inspect records and to receive information under the law governing press, broadcasting, archives and media.

Vice President

Prof. Dr. Andreas Korbmacher is Vice President of the Federal Administrative Court and as such deputy to the President.

Born in 1960 in Freiburg he began his career as a judge at the Regional Court Berlin in 1988. In January 1990 he became a judge of the Administrative Court Berlin. In the same year he obtained a doctorate of law from the Free University of Berlin. In the following years he was seconded as research associate to the Constitutional Court of Berlin and to the Senate Department for Justice. In January 2003, he was appointed judge at the Higher Administrative Court Berlin (later on the Higher Administrative Court Berlin and Brandenburg). In May 2005, he assumed the role of presiding judge at the Higher Administrative Court. In 2007, the Technical University of Berlin appointed him honorary professor.

Following his appointment as judge at the Federal Administrative Court in November 2008 Mr Andreas Korbmacher became a member of the 9th Senate. Since May 2017, he is presiding judge of the 7th Senate. Its responsibilities include the law on environmental protection including immission control law, waste law, atomic energy law, mining law and waterways planning. On 22 May 2019 he became Vice president of the Federal Administrative Court. In addition he held the position of press spokesperson for more than three years.

Präsident des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Klaus Rennert

Der Präsident

An der Spitze des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts steht der Präsident. Er ist zum einen Dienstvorgesetzter der Richter und der nichtrichterlichen Bediensteten des Gerichts. In dieser Funktion wird er durch den Vizepräsidenten vertreten. Zum anderen ist der Präsident auch selbst als Richter tätig: Er führt den Vorsitz eines - derzeit des 10. - Revisionssenats. In seinem Richteramt ist auch der Präsident Gleicher unter Gleichen. Er hat keine Weisungsbefugnis gegenüber anderen Richtern. Eine weitere Aufgabe des Präsidenten besteht darin, die Kontakte zu anderen Gerichten und Justizorganisationen im In- und Ausland zu pflegen.

Präsident des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Klaus Rennert

Präsident des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts ist Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Klaus Rennert.

Geboren 1955 in Berlin, begann er seine richterliche Laufbahn 1984 am Landgericht Offenburg. Im Herbst 1985 wechselte er in die Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit (Verwaltungsgericht Karlsruhe). Es folgten Abordnungen als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an das Bundesverfassungsgericht sowie als Referent an das Staatsministerium Baden-Württemberg. Im August 1994 wurde Herr Rennert zum Richter am Verwaltungsgerichtshof Baden-Württemberg ernannt. An der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, die ihn bereits 1987 zum Doktor der Rechte promoviert hatte, nahm er von Oktober 1996 bis September 1997 die Vertretung des Lehrstuhls für Verwaltungsrecht und Verwaltungswissenschaften wahr. Im Februar 2000 bestellte ihn die Universität Freiburg zum Honorarprofessor. Die Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg verlieh ihm 2009 die Ehrendoktorwürde.

Nach seiner Ernennung zum Richter am Bundesverwaltungsgericht im September 2003 gehörte Herr Klaus Rennert zunächst dem 3. Revisionssenat an. Im Mai 2011 übernahm er den Vorsitz des 8. Revisionssenats. Seit November 2012 war er Vizepräsident des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts und seit 1. Juli 2014 bekleidet er das Amt des Präsidenten des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts. Er hat den Vorsitz des 10. Senats inne. Dieser ist insbesondere für das Informationsfreiheitsrecht sowie das presse-, rundfunk-, archiv- und medienrechtliche Informations-, Einsichts- und Auskunftsrecht zuständig.

Der Vizepräsident

Vizepräsident des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts, Prof. Dr. Andreas Korbmacher

Vizepräsident des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts und somit ständiger Vertreter des Präsidenten ist Prof. Dr. Andreas Korbmacher.

Geboren 1960 in Freiburg im Breisgau, begann er 1988 seine richterliche Laufbahn am Landgericht Berlin. Im Januar 1990 wechselte er an das dortige Verwaltungsgericht. Im selben Jahr promovierte ihn die Freie Universität Berlin zum Doktor der Rechte. Es folgten Abordnungen als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an den Verfassungsgerichtshof des Landes Berlin sowie an die Senatsverwaltung für Justiz. Ab Januar 2003 war er als Richter am Oberverwaltungsgericht Berlin (später Oberverwaltungsgericht Berlin-Brandenburg) tätig. Im Mai 2005 wurde er zum Vorsitzenden Richter am Oberverwaltungsgericht ernannt. Seit 2007 ist er Honorarprofessor an der Technischen Universität Berlin.

Nach seiner Ernennung zum Richter am Bundesverwaltungsgericht im November 2008 gehörte Herr Andreas Korbmacher dem 9. Revisionssenat an. Seit Mai 2017 ist er Vorsitzender des 7. Revisionssenats. Dieser ist insbesondere für das Umweltschutzrecht einschließlich des Immissionsschutzrechts, das Abfallrecht, das Atomrecht, das Bergrecht und das Recht des Baus von Wasserstraßen zuständig. Seit 22. Mai 2019 ist er Vizepräsident des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts. Daneben war er mehr als drei Jahre Pressesprecher des Gerichts.