Important information

    Due to the risk of infection with the coronavirus, the Federal Administrative Court remains closed for visitors until further notice.

    It is still possible to attend oral hearings when wearing a medical face or FFP2 mask. The courtrooms are fit to keep sufficient distance.

Administrative Jurisdiction

The term administrative jurisdiction describes the authority of the administrative courts to adjudicate in the area of administrative law. The administrative courts decide in public law disputes unrelated to constitutional law, unless the disputes are referred by law to other courts.

Judges at the administrative courts review the legality of administrative acts. They make their decisions independently and are subject only to the law. Citizens are entitled to call on the administrative courts if they feel that a decision by an administrative authority violates their rights. In this way the administrative courts uphold the effective legal protection stipulated in constitutional law. Particular principles are applied in the administrative process.

Delimitation from other courts

There are four other jurisdictions in Germany, in addition to the administrative jurisdiction, namely the general jurisdiction for civil and criminal law, the labour jurisdiction, the social jurisdiction and the fiscal jurisdiction. The legislator has assigned certain administrative disputes to courts of other jurisdictions. Moreover, there are special administrative courts for particular areas of administrative law. They include the Bundeswehr (German armed forces) Disciplinary and Complaints Court, courts for certain professions and the Federal Patent Court.

The Federal Administrative Court cannot be called upon to adjudicate in constitutional disputes. This may involve disputes in which constitutional bodies such as the Bundestag or federal government have different opinions on rights and obligations set forth in the Basic Law (Grundgestz). The Federal Constitutional Court has jurisdiction in these cases.

Progress of cases

The administrative jurisdiction consists essentially of three instances. The administrative courts are the courts of first instance; the higher administrative courts account for the second instance, while the Federal Administrative Court is the court of final resort.

Wichtiger Hinweis

    Aufgrund des Infektionsrisikos mit dem Corona-Virus ist das Bundesverwaltungsgericht bis auf Weiteres für auswärtige Besucherinnen und Besucher geschlossen.

    Die Teilnahme an öffentlichen Verhandlungen ist mit medizinischer Gesichtsmaske oder mit FFP2-Maske möglich. Für ausreichend Abstand in den Sitzungssälen ist gesorgt.

Richterbank mit Richtern von oben

Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit

Der Begriff der Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit beschreibt die Befugnis der Verwaltungsgerichte zur Rechtsprechung auf dem Gebiet des Verwaltungsrechts. Die Verwaltungsgerichte entscheiden in öffentlich-rechtlichen Streitigkeiten nichtverfassungsrechtlicher Art, sofern nicht das Gesetz anderen Gerichten die Streitigkeit zuweist.

Die Richter der Verwaltungsgerichte prüfen die Rechtmäßigkeit des Verwaltungshandelns. Sie treffen ihre Entscheidung unabhängig und sind nur an Gesetz und Recht gebunden. Fühlen sich Bürgerinnen und Bürger durch eine sie betreffende Entscheidung einer Verwaltungsbehörde in ihren Rechten verletzt, können sie sie von den Verwaltungsgerichten überprüfen lassen. Die Verwaltungsgerichte verwirklichen damit das verfassungsrechtliche Gebot des effektiven Rechtsschutzes. Im Verwaltungsprozess finden besondere Grundsätze Anwendung.

Abgrenzung zu anderen Gerichten

Neben der Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit gibt es in Deutschland vier weitere Gerichtsbarkeiten: die ordentliche Gerichtsbarkeit mit der Zivil- und Strafgerichtsbarkeit, die Arbeitsgerichtsbarkeit, die Sozialgerichtsbarkeit und die Finanzgerichtsbarkeit. Der Gesetzgeber hat bestimmte verwaltungsrechtliche Streitigkeiten den Gerichten der anderen Gerichtsbarkeiten zugewiesen. Darüber hinaus bestehen besondere Verwaltungsgerichte für einzelne Bereiche des Verwaltungsrechts. Hierzu zählen u. a. die Truppendienstgerichte, die berufsständischen Gerichte und das Bundespatentgericht.

Für verfassungsrechtliche Streitigkeiten ist der Rechtsweg zu den Verwaltungsgerichten nicht eröffnet. Solche Streitigkeiten liegen etwa vor, wenn Organe der Verfassung wie der Bundestag oder die Bundesregierung über im Grundgesetz verankerte Rechte und Pflichten streiten. In diesen Fällen ist das Bundesverfassungsgericht zuständig.

Instanzenzug

Die Verwaltungsgerichtsbarkeit besteht grundsätzlich aus drei Instanzen. Erstinstanzlich sind die Verwaltungsgerichte, in zweiter Instanz die Oberverwaltungsgerichte und in letzter Instanz das Bundesverwaltungsgericht tätig.